1990 Laureate

John V. Krutilla, Allen V. Kneese

Environmental and resource economics.

The first Volvo Environment Prize was awarded to professors John V. Krutilla and Allen V. Kneese, both of Resources for the Future, USA, who founded resource and environmental economics as a research discipline. The two Laureates lead the field in combining the sciences of economics and ecology, by systematically analysing the various aspects of environmental impact within the current economic system.

Discover all laureates