Paul Ehrlich received the award in 1993 for research on how population growth and rising living standards interact with environmental problems.
Amory Lovins received the award in 2007 for his research on how to create energy efficiency.
Eric Lambin received the award in 2014 for his remote sensing analyses to understand land use and the influence of humans on the planet.
Carlos Nobre received the award 2016 for pioneering research on the Amazon, one of Earth’s most important ecosystems.
Xuemei Bai received the award in 2018 for her research on urban sustainability.