Co-Chair, Global Network on Energy for Sustainable Development (GNESD) 2001 – ongoing; member of Senior Policy Advisory Board, Energy Foundation China 1998 – ongoing; Commissioner (2012-13) of the Swedish Commission on fossil fuel independence in transport; Co-Chair of the Global Energy Assessment, 2006 – 2012; Director of the International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University 2001 – 2009; Director of the Energy and Atmosphere Programme, United Nations Development Programme, 1994 – 2001. Co-Chair of Energy Working Group, China Council for International Cooperation on Environment and Development, 1992- 2002.

He has chaired and has held memberships of a number of international and multilateral boards. He was awarded the Volvo Environment Prize in 2000.