4 persons smiling and 3 of the has won a price From left, Martin Lundstedt, CEO Volvo Group and Chairman of the Volvo Environment Prize Foundation, Professor Penelope Lindeque, Professor Tamara Galloway, and Professor Richard Thompson.

Three UK scientists, Tamara Galloway, Richard Thompson, and Penelope Lindeque were awarded the Volvo Environment Prize 2022 for alerting the world to ocean microplastics. The prize event featured a Jury Citation, a session on how to stop plastic pollution, an award ceremony, and entertainment.

Watch the whole prize event (59 min 44 seconds)
Watch the Jury Citation Volvo Environment Prize 2022. Dr. Sybille van den Hove, a Jury member, and Professor Thomas Elmqvist, a member of the Scientific Committee, explain how and why they selected the 2022 laureates . (2 minutes 43 seconds)
How can plastic pollution best be prevented? Watch the session with the 2022 Volvo Environment Prize laureates Tamara Galloway, Richard Thompson, and Penelope Lindeque with questions from Ph.D. students, and input from Matt Simon, author, Markus Horcher, Borealis and Nivedha RM, TrashCon (13 minutes 30 seconds)
Award Ceremony Volvo Environment Prize 2022 (4 minutes 30 seconds)
2 persons having a presentation


November 29, 2022

The crucial role of science and technology in the green transformation

Niklas Gustafsson, Secretary of the Volvo Environment Prize Foundation talks to Martin Lundstedt, Volvo Group President and CEO

“You need to be a world-class scientist”

Video about the award and scientific requirements

Premiere of the film “Plastic Ocean” – about the laureates and their research
(in two parts)

Jury citation

Dr Sybille van den Hove, member of the Prize Jury and Professor Thomas Elmqvist, member of the Scientific Committee explain

How can plastic pollution best be prevented?

A session with the 2022 years laureates Tamara Galloway, Richard Thompson and Penelope Lindeque with questions from PhD students andinput from from Matt Simon, author,  Markus Horcher, Borealis  and Nivedha RM, TrashCon.

Award Ceremony

Remarks by H.E. Ms Judith Gough, His Majesty’s Ambassador to Sweden

Live performance
Musical entertainment by Amena Alsameai


From left: Richard Thompson, Tamara Galloway, Penelope Lindeque, Thomas Elmqvist, Matt Simon
Second row from left: Amena Alsameai, Dr. Sybille van den Hove, Martin Lundstedt, Niklas Gustafsson, Markus Horcher, Nivedha RM